Sponsored by:

Speeding

Search this Thread

Old 23 April 2000, 04:48 PM
Marky
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy

I have been driving for 17 years and not a single offence, I buy a scobby and within 6 months I'm caught for speeding. I was driving on a dual carriage way (40 limit, I thought it was a 60 limit) and was caught with a lazer doing 91 at 271.8m, dry day and perfact conditions. PC said I woud receive a summons as I was doing well over the speed limit. Can anybody offer any advice
Old 23 April 2000, 05:04 PM
boomer
Scooby Senior

Marky,

this wouldn't be the A33 out of Reading (from the IDR to the M4) by any chance?

The words "fish" and "barrel" spring to mind if it was. Nice, dead-straight road with a ridiculous speed limit - which is rigorously enforced!

Whatever, you are probably in big do-do's, 'cos you were clocked at well over the limit (double, and more than 30mph over). You won't know for sure until the letter arrives, but maybe you need to start thinking about purchasing a push-bike.

Hard luck mate.

mb
Old 23 April 2000, 05:05 PM
Jim
Scooby Newbie

Get ready to go to court and plead like you've never pleaded before! My mate got done for 74 in a 50, but the policeman ademantly said it was a 40 zone, and that he would receive at least 6 points plus a hefty fine. We're going to photograph the bit he got done on next week before he goes to court cos we know the copper was wrong about th limit he wrote on the ticket.
I think if you just send off the summons without going to court it may be a ban, but the most knowledgeable person on this seems to be the guy who runs the speedtrap site (i'll try and find the web address).
Cant find that site, but here's a posting on the XROC of someone offfering advice:
Old 23 April 2000, 05:17 PM
Blow Dog
Scooby Regular

Unhappy

Hi Marky,