Sponsored by:

GROUP BUY: Superchips

Search this Thread

Old 05 September 2001, 12:04 AM
Mossman
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation

Increased boost. Fine as long as you alter the timing, advance, fuelling etc Otherwise it can be VERY risky. As far as i am concerned, LINK, PPP, Motec etc is the way to go.

Get out clause - I am not very technical!

Cheers,

Mossman
Old 05 September 2001, 12:05 AM
Adam M
Scooby Regular

Listen to craig he is right on this one.

You need to monitor fuelling and det all the time to be safe with such things. You also need to know what the lambda is telling you.

Superchips are without doubt equivalent to bleed vlaves in the job they do, so dont waste your money if you are going to do it at all.

If running a bleed valve some say you can get away with it if you dont run too much boost, as the standard ecu might run rich enough to cope with the extra air. But most people just want as much power as possible for not a little money. They end up upping boost and blowing up.

Just because a few mates have succeeded in not destroying their engines doesnt make them fine. There is a very prominent person on the board who lost an engine to superchips, but his identity must remain anonymous due to warranty issues.

If you want to go for something like this then feel free, but with so many people saying stay away, does it not put doubt in your mind?

The more experienced tuners would not even consider upping boost without properly sorting out fuelling. You can get away with it (apparently) on a cosworth but you simply cannot on a scoob, they are far more prone to det.

Ahmed bayjoo tried to reate a unifrom chip, and decided it wasnt worth it for this reason. You cannot make a generic performance enhancing chip for a scoob. The only thing is a modded ecu done properly with a proper map such as a ppp, link, motec etc.