ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

Scooby Import

Search this Thread

Old 08 July 2001, 05:46 PM
sgm
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

I know this question has been asked millions of times but I'm new to all this internet lark.
I am serious about importing a scooby wrx but have heard horror stories about them.
People say that if you import one to Uk spec it is still different?
Also dealers don't like to deal with you when it comes to servicing it?
Any help or advice would be mostly appreicated.
Sorry once again as I expect you are sick of people asking this question but they seem to have taken off the search method which could allow me to see the correct topics.

Regards

Stan
Old 08 July 2001, 05:56 PM
chrisp
Scooby Regular

Hi Stan

Search is in the top right of the screen "Search Scoobynet"

It depends what you mean by imported WRX. If its a Japanese import WRX then Subaru UK and their dealers will have nothing to do with them. If its a new shape WRX imported from Europe, as a European spec car then they are warranted for at a least one year under a pan European warranty. A RHD European spec car may have a slightly different spec but essentially they are the same as UK spec. UK dealer will fix and service Euro spec cars.

If you are looking at a WRX which is not a new 2001 (big round headlight) shape then its a Jap import and dealer wont tough them but a lot independents will .

(The Aussies also had pre 2001 WRX's but these were same as UK spec and unlikely to have found their way here)

Best have a look here may answer loads of questions :
Old 08 July 2001, 11:17 PM
sgm
Scooby Newbie

The car that I have been quoted for is a subaru wrx 4wd 4dr and is quoted in euros.
This must mean that it is a UK spec car and not a Jap import right?
Am still unsure about this importing business but I can save over 6K so its got to be worth trying.
Has anyone else sucessfully imported a euro scooby.
Please Help
Old 08 July 2001, 11:19 PM
sgm