Notices
ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What is the best technique to corner a scooby? How do u do it.

Search this Thread

Old 13 August 2002, 04:57 PM
Rottie1
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
As it says really, getting a little use to my scoob now after 4 months and want to start pushing the handling, safely.

What is the best cornering technique. After 3 years in a rwd cossie and 354lbft i am still slow in and fast out.

Also what will the car feel like ?, i have not felt any diffs etc working for me yet.

Cheers

Rottie
Old 13 August 2002, 05:04 PM
Rottie1
Scooby Regular

Forgot to say mine is a MY99 UK wagon on 17inch OZ standard suspension.

Rottie
Old 13 August 2002, 05:08 PM
NotoriousREV
Scooby Regular

Just throw it in and see what happens

Seems to me (and I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination) but they like to corner under power rather than braking into corners, so I've been getting my braking out of the way early then booting it through the corners (i.e. pretty much slow in fast out but earlier on the gas), feels good, but it might not be the best technique. It has the plus side that if someone is a better driver in a slower car behind you, you slow them down into the corner then leave them behind out of it.
Old 13 August 2002, 05:09 PM
LG John
Scooby Regular

Still learning as well but the people that say that UK turbos can't get tail happy are lying. If you mildly provoke them the front end will plough on forever. If you mash the throttle and don't back off the diffs will chuck power to the rear and you can get some lovely and very controlable powerslides in the wet. I've even had the back-end drifting a little in the dry under power.

This is fun handling but not the best or fastest, I've still to figure that bit out. Turbo lag keeps catching me out at the moment so I'm aiming for mods to give a faster spool up
Old 13 August 2002, 05:13 PM
Puff The Magic Wagon!
Support Scoobynet!