Buying my first scooby..

Search this Thread

Old 17 January 2024, 07:20 PM
Bennji
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying my first scooby..

Hi,
I've always loved Subaru's and I'm finally in a position to buy one. I have found one for sale at a price I think is a bargain! But I'm completely new to owning Subaru's and would like some advise from you guys. I have been looking at different versions and years and have found an '03 blobeye STI. I'm hoping the price reflects the fact it is not one with DCCD, I also do not think it is wide track either.

I have arranged to have a look and have done some research on what I should be looking out for.

I will give some details of the car from the advert.

The car is listed as a '03 WRX STI with 94,000 and is listed about £10k. The cam belt was done 8k miles ago, and has all service history. It is a PPP but it has been modified. Some of the modifications include milltek exhaust, uprated intercooler, upgraded fuel injectors, upgraded headerpipes, larger turbo, cold air intake kit, upgraded fuel pump, anti lift kit, electronic boost controller, dump valve, strut braces, coil overs, brembo brakes. The car is black with graphite grey wheels. It looks very clean in the pictures. There is also a print out showing it at the 390hp and invoices for all the upgrades which makes me think that it has been done by someone who knows what they were doing. And again the car looks very clean in pictures, but black paint can be deceiving sometimes.

Now for the bits that give me a slightly uneasy feeling.

It looks to be at a dealer maybe, but trying to Google the dealer for look at a few reviews didn't come up with much or anything in fact. But he does look to have a number of cars for sale. He has another 10 cars listed so may be a smaller solo dealer.