ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

Travel Sickness

Search this Thread

Old 24 February 2017, 08:58 AM
Cambs_Stuart
Scooby Regular

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Travel Sickness

I need some advice. My youngest boy (4 years old) has started to suffer from travel sickness. While it's particularly bad when he's in the back of my wagon and I'm driving in an enthusiastic manner, he is also not feeling good in much softer and more sedately driven cars.
Any tips or tricks that mean I can still enjoy driving and don't have to buy something boring?
Old 24 February 2017, 09:07 AM
AWG
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

You've answered your own question there mate. Maybe don't drive so 'enthusiastically' when he is in the car. Bit selfish really if you know he is feeling rough.
As for the normal sedate driving, I am no doctor but had this when I was a youngster, would imagine something has triggered it (maybe your enthusiasm) and he feels rough on any journeys now and feels anxious about being in any car.
Old 24 February 2017, 09:15 AM
scoobypaul_temp
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Our youngest daughter is the same - things we do to 'reduce it':

Get her to wear a travel band

Keep her cool - take shoes off on long journeys / keep window open slightly to keep fresh air coming in (We generally keep the car cooler now just in case also)

Make sure she doesn't spend the whole time looking down at phone/ipad/book - apparently your eyes need to see something stable in the distance (as your brain is feeling 'movement' but not seeing anything to reference against)

All of the above have definitely helped her - previously she would be sick 3 or 4 times on a long journey, last week we went to N Wales (4 hours) and she was sick once on the way there, and not at all on the way home.
Old 24 February 2017, 09:17 AM
Cambs_Stuart
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by AWG