1st time scooby buyer looking for advice

Search this Thread

Old 17 April 2016, 09:19 AM
HOTSHOT_III
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1st time scooby buyer looking for advice

Hi Guys,

I've done some phoning around and found changing my insurance over to one of these won't cost much more than i'm paying now:

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classifi..._campaign=pola

Is this particular model a good choice? don't know much about these cars so i'm looking for some advice:

1) Is there an easy way to distinguish between the different models (WRX, WRX STi etc.)? To my untrained eye they all look very similar (if there's a definitive source to learn all the different models that would be great!).

2) What goes wrong/needs to be done and at what kinds of mileages/age? I'm a fairly competent DIY mechanic so as long as I know what to ask the seller it won't be a problem.

3) Are there any modifications which are desirable or best avoided?

4) do these cars get stolen a lot, and is the factory fitted alarm/immobiliser good enough to prevent this?

Thanks in advance for all your help. Hopefully I can be patient, do my homework and buy a car properly!
Old 17 April 2016, 10:14 AM
RS_Matt
Scooby Regular

Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts

The STI is better in every department except fuel economy and running costs. Main linchpins are is the STI engine can handle approx 400-450bhp (WRX 350bhp) and the STI gearbox can handle upwards of 700lbft (WRX 350lbft)

I used to say the WRX was better for 0-60ish, but that's only if you launch at a ludicrously high rpm.

The STI has vastly superior styling, which includes bigger boot spoiler (the car in your link has the STI spoiler with some aero bits stuck in it) twisted colour coded side-skirts, front winglets, fog covers, bigger bonnet vent and blue interior.

The japanese STI and WRX are better than the UK versions, so if you can save a little longer!