Other Marques Non-Subaru Vehicles

Alfa romeos?!

Search this Thread

Old 24 March 2004, 07:31 AM
scoobysnax69
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wink Alfa romeos?!

Ladies an gentle men, i need some help. I desperately want a scooby, but for the mo, the insurance premiums are way too high - unless i want a sport ( no offence to you sport owners, but if i'm gonna have a scooby a want a turbo!) Thinking of getting summit a bit cheaper on insurance, but a bit sportier for da mo(currently drivin a volvo 340!!! ) I have been recommended an alfa by a mate, theres definately plenty of them around, but i have no experience of them! Wondered if theres any alfa owners out there - please give me your experience, good or bad!

Any other motor suggestions would be greatly appreciated - sensible ones!!!

scooby snax
Old 24 March 2004, 07:47 AM
richs2891
Scooby Regular

Talking

I've had two Alfa's a 33 and a 145.
Enjoyed every minute of ownership - right up until I crashed my 145 !
Can honestly say they where not the most reliale of motors with lots of niggling little faults (they are Italian !)
33 had lots of little habits of when in wet weather and at night could roll up to traffic lights with a full tank of fuel and the gueage would drop to zero and then go to full after pulled away.
145 was a lot better apart its habit of occasionally deciding to drop the passenger window for no reason.
On the plus side wonderful cars to drive, engine note is good if get a boxer engine varient (not as deep as Scooby). Be careful with insurance as they can be expensive to insure.
No experience of the later models - I hope the reliability has impoved and the attitiude of the dealers

Richard
Old 24 March 2004, 04:30 PM
IWatkins
Scooby Regular

Good 33's are very difficult to find but there are a few more good 145's about.

33 16v with a nice exhaust sounds a lot better than the best Scooby you have ever heard. I know, I've had one

Cheers

Ian
Old 24 March 2004, 04:39 PM
Scuba