Notices
Other Marques Non-Subaru Vehicles

Just drove the 150 PD

Search this Thread

Old 23 February 2003, 03:01 PM
LG John
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My aunty just came over to my parents house and I was round there washing the scooby. Nicely timed cause she had her golf 150 TDI PD (please insert any other relevant letters ) with her.

Took the golf for a drive and I'm mixed between disappointed and impressed

I've had a lot of TDI experience and the first thing that struck me (again) was the lack of effort: select gear, push throttle...car go's I quickly realised that the best way to accelerate is just to hammer through the gears as quickly as you can (pretty much) and let the torque do the work. It's quick but a scooby would thrash it if the driver was happy to wind her up a little.

Going back to FWD was a shock, 1st gear really was a waste of space! The wheels spun so easily Also, the muppets that still argue FWD is a comparible (on UK roads) to a 4WD need their head seen to. It was very difficult to get the power down out the corners and with the heavy engine up front you couldn't carry to much in either. Overall I was impressed with the comfort, the guts, the lack of effort and the q-car feel but I couldn't help but feel I'm still a little too young for it. As a family man it would be a great choice. Where I expected it would thrash the scooby was 80+ mph and especially over 100mph but it didn't. Actually, it felt comparitively reluctant to pull over 100mph. Strange considering the torque and 2WD and this came as a bit of a dissapointment.

All in all though a nice car and it makes a brilliant cruiser, but sports car it is not. Of course the really scary thing is that my aunt had reset the computer 8 miles ago and I did another 8 miles on top of that. Her 8 miles were in town and gentle. My 8 miles was pretty much on boost all the time and yet it was still showing an average of 30mpg

All IMHO
Old 23 February 2003, 03:06 PM
Brun