Another 777 lands short

Search this Thread

Old 06 July 2013, 08:48 PM
billythekid
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Another 777 lands short

At AFO.
Lands way short of the threshold hitting the banking and ripping the tail off.
Initial reports say everyone is off and alive.
Crazy - those 777s were built strong!
Old 06 July 2013, 09:13 PM
Oldun
Scooby Regular

There's a vid on youtube of the aftermath.

Old 07 July 2013, 07:38 AM
SirFozzalot
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Reports of 2 dead now.
Old 07 July 2013, 09:41 AM
ALi-B
Support Scoobynet!

Received 301 Likes on 240 Posts

Very lucky escape for alot of the passengers though.

Spooky similarities to the 777 crashing at Heathrow: No mayday called, so whatever happened was on the very last moments before landing.
Old 07 July 2013, 10:07 AM
Midlife......
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I'm not an expert on these things but two things intrigue me.......... how on earth could a modern plane miss the runway with all the autoland stuff and why did the cabin roof catch alight ?

Just seems wrong for a modern plane...........

Shaun
Old 07 July 2013, 12:14 PM
tony de wonderful
Scooby Regular

I noticed the top of the fuselage is burned out. I could never understand why they let passengers take on duty free hi proof alcohol. I wonder if any of this helped fuel the fire. Also in the pics some passengers were grabbing their hand luggage, in some cases those massive bags with wheels. How selfish and ****ing stupid!?
Old 07 July 2013, 01:49 PM
ALi-B
Support Scoobynet!

Originally Posted by Midlife......
I'm not an expert on these things but two things intrigue me.......... how on earth could a modern plane miss the runway with all the autoland stuff and why did the cabin roof catch alight ?

Shaun