Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Heating gone mental

Search this Thread

Old 18 January 2013, 09:42 PM
J4CKO
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Heating gone mental

Our heating decided to come on at 3am this morning and at the moment the thermostat is set at 68 and the temp is more like 80, radiators are really hot, its a traditional boiler, i.e. not a Combi or Condensing, a "Valiant" with an electronic programmer and an old school Danfoss thermostat, the clock is set right and it shoudl be on now, just not trying to roast us !
Old 18 January 2013, 09:47 PM
Busterbulldog
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Do you have a frost stat somewhere kicking it in? If not check your zone valves.
Old 18 January 2013, 09:48 PM
kevo10
Scooby Regular

Im no expert but sounds like your thermostats had it. it seems its telling the boiler its needed even though its up to and over reqd temp
Old 18 January 2013, 10:04 PM
J4CKO
Scooby Regular

The frost stat is under the boiler in the loft, my understanding with these is that it just turns the heating on as a failsafe if it gets cold, it is a Honeywell thing but doesnt appear to have any adjustment, it isnt that cold up there and its never kicked in before when its been colder.
Old 18 January 2013, 10:09 PM
Busterbulldog
Scooby Regular

The frost stat will have a removable cover,under that is the adjustment ****/scale put a thermometer in the loft and check ambient temp.Check the setting temp of frost stat...turn it off/down and see if your heating goes back to normality...it will generally click when its turned...as the heating came on at 3am its the most likely cause.
Old 18 January 2013, 10:15 PM
J4CKO
Scooby Regular

Cool, cheers Buster, I did kind of have that at the back of my mind as I remembered the plumber mentioning it but wasnt actually sure where it fitted in !