Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

What should i do?

Search this Thread

Old 01 February 2010, 07:18 PM
subaruturbo_18
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What should i do?

I am at university studying mechanical engineering, I am in my first year but i am unsure if i want to continue. I have been losing interest in the course for a while now and i do not know what else i want to do.

Still have passion for cars etc but do not know what i want to do for a job, but either way it is something car related, i know that much.

I do DJing on the side and produce music (try to) and am still learning the producing side, i want to pursue that but i feel i will just be chasing a dream.

I have thought about trying to get into car journalism but would not know where to start or if its even worth it?

I feel i want to leave full time education and go and make some money, but i don't know how

i don't want to do anything on the lines of being a mechanic as it would bore the hell out of me fixing cars, but i would like to work somewhere tuning cars or working with exotic cars, or even on a track or race team but even then i don't know how long the excitement in that would last.

I do have a Btech in automotive engineering so can use that to get into a job/education but i just don't know what to do.

Anyone been in a similar situation?

I don't expect many answers on here but i might aswell try
Old 01 February 2010, 07:25 PM
stilover
Scooby Regular

Get a job.

******* students.

Seriously though, car journalism is one of the hardest trades to get into. As said recently in Evo magazine. Every man want to drive cars about all day, and get paid for it.

Being able to not only write, but translate what a car is doing into a well written and entertaining story is very hard. And by their (Evo's) admission, getting a good job for a good magazine, is more like luck, and being in the right place at the right time.