Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Revising tips...

Search this Thread

Old 17 January 2010, 02:05 PM
chocolate_o_brian
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Revising tips...

As some know (and some won't) I'm studying towards my NVQ 2 in Mechanical Engineering. This is both classroom based and workshop based in the first year (nexy year it's NVQ level 3 and plant based out in the REAL world LOL). Workshop stuff is going well and AFAIK I'm 2nd in the "league table" we have going for work pieces (just finished making a pipe vice from various carbon steels and brass using hand fitting techniques). Sorry blabbering on...

Anywho, the classroom stuff is split into seperate subjects and I have a physics test/exam coming up on Tuesday morning. I'll admit, some things like electrical currents and vectors/bose notation have caused me lots of problems as I've basically just not taken it in for some reason. Maybe 'cos I left School 10 years ago and some lads doing the apprenticeship left last year... I dunno, don't really care.

But what I'd like to ask the S.Net public is for some revision tips if I may. I need to achieve a good pass in the text/exam as I wish to do the advanced level in order to persue my Engineering (and not just 'skilled craftsman') ambitions. The work I'm doing now is to about GCSE standard and I'm lucky in that I have had some (free) tutoring outside of work.

So if anyone could offer me tips on how to remember things like formulae, where/when to use transposition in forumlae or any general tips for not forgetting stuff, I would be chuffed to bits. My tutor has offered me one VERY good bit of advice - to write things down (almost like a punishment of lines in School) in order to drum them in.

So, I hand it over to you guys who may/may not be in similar situations.

Andy
Old 17 January 2010, 02:59 PM
The Zohan
Scooby Regular

Hi CoB,