Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Question for those who know physics

Search this Thread

Old 13 January 2010, 02:47 PM
subaruturbo_18
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question for those who know physics

Is there a way to calculate the speed of a fan sat at the front of the car at a vertical position. Obviously the wind speed hitting the fan would be the same speed of the car,(the natural wind speed due to weather will essentially be unsignificant compared to the speed of the car so at this stage i am dis-regarding it)

If any body knows a rough average speed that it may rotate at then let me know. If it has to be calculated then please help me with the text below

As far as i know, the speed will depend on the total surface area of the blades, length of the blades, and the angle of the blades.

I am studying mech eng but am not that far into the course. The only way i can think to work it out is buy using the formula to calculate torque, but using windspeed as the force and then blade length as area. I do have some information on how angles of force affect the torque, so i should be able to do that part. I would guess there would be some sort of link to the torque and the speed the fan will turn and this is would depend on its weight also, but would this be the right direction in how to calcualte it?

correct me if i'm wrong please
Old 13 January 2010, 03:25 PM
+Doc+
Scooby Senior

Received 9 Likes on 3 Posts

Sod mathematics, do a practical exam and get the true answer!
Old 13 January 2010, 03:54 PM
warrenm2
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by subaruturbo_18
As far as i know, the speed will depend on the total surface area of the blades, length of the blades, and the angle of the blades.

correct me if i'm wrong please