Cycle trainers

Search this Thread

Old 08 January 2008, 11:37 PM
BOB.T
Scooby Senior

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cycle trainers

Hi

What's the craic with cycle trainers then?

I have an MTB and I'm interested in using it on a cycle trainer. I've never used one before, is there anything I need to look for, can I use them with knobbly tyres, do I need anything to attach the bike to the trainer?

Ta

PS, have been looking here Trainers | Cycle | Wiggle - The UK's #1 Online Bike & Cycle Shop
Old 09 January 2008, 08:31 AM
Mogsi
Scooby Regular

Turbo trainers are more road orientated but should work fine with a MTB, it would be worth checking though that it can accept the smaller MTB wheels. I would definitely get a smooth slick tyre and a hard wearing one at that, turbos eat tyres for breakfast..

Another option is a set of rollers, again I'd swap the tyres, but it wont eat them, and also requires more concentration/balance....

Tacx EcoTrack T1025 Training Rollers for £55.99 | Tacx Trainers | Cycle | Wiggle
Old 09 January 2008, 08:35 AM
SJ_Skyline
Scooby Senior

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Bob, if you buy one, will you be posting your dyno graphs from it?

Seriously, I'm a litle put off as I ride my bike outside and it gets really filthy. If I was to buy a trainer I would want to use it indoors but then I don't want a filthy bike indoors and I don't want to buy a bike just to use indoors....
Old 09 January 2008, 08:55 AM
pwhittle
Scooby Regular

I've had 2 and sold them both, just didn't enjoy using them
yes, you need a slick, which can be a pain if using a single bike
and you get very hot when there's no wind, so you'll need a fan! And a tv...
Old 09 January 2008, 09:00 AM
SiPie
Scooby Regular

Suggest you buy a good set of lights and just get out and ride your bike....

You will get bored senseless with a cycle trainer and overheat as pwhittle mentioned
Old 09 January 2008, 09:18 AM
Scoobydiid
Scooby Regular