Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Foreign bank account ?

Search this Thread

Old 19 June 2007, 03:49 PM
Bakerman
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Foreign bank account ?

Yo, I am a UK resident with property abroad and have to pay for various things from the UK for France, e.g. gas/water/elec etc and it costs me a few quid everytime I do it as I use my UK bank to do it for me and they charge a fee. Does anybody know if I can set up an foreign account in Euros and then transfer money from my UK to/from it and pay for bills in Euros online rather than going through my own UK bank and obviously save the charges.

Thanks
Old 19 June 2007, 03:55 PM
GrantyBoy
Scooby Regular

why don't you ask your bank to set up a Euro account?
Old 19 June 2007, 04:12 PM
stilover
Scooby Regular

I have a Swiss bank account, but I don't like to talk about it. The Tax man might be reading Scoobynet
Old 19 June 2007, 04:17 PM
WRX300MAN
Scooby Regular

Smile Don't listen to STi lover, as he drives an STi!!!

Matie . .It seems like the correct thing to do . . . I cannot foresee any problem with the HMRC, but the only problem is how easy it is to set up an account in the France . .

. . I speak from personal experience, and live/study in the USA and setting up an account there takes two minutes . . .UK banks - when they encounter something out of the ordinary usually have a seizure and refuse to actively help . . W*nkers!!!

. . But GB /France are countries where they love being awkward and pedantic!!!

Good luck!!
Old 19 June 2007, 04:34 PM
stilover
Scooby Regular

Thumbs down Oh No, it's him ......... WRX300MAN

Still driving an inferior car?.

WRX300MAN really wanting an STI
Old 19 June 2007, 04:43 PM
WRX300MAN
Scooby Regular

Default Stay off the drugs STilover!!!

Well . . .

. . .The STi, is still as common as garden compost!!!

. . But good to hear from you matie!!!!
Old 19 June 2007, 05:10 PM
sti-04!!
Scooby Senior