Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Another petition - time the Government did away with Inheritance Tax

Search this Thread

Old 26 February 2007, 09:09 AM
The Snug Rhino
Scooby Regular

Location: I have ad blocked my rep - so dont waste your time!
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

waste of time for two obvious reasons:

1. IHT was paid by about 5 or 6% of estates last year - so it is effecting a small number of people.

2. The budget is round the corner - i'm no expert but i reckon the doing away with a multibillion pound revenue from a taxation approach that has been around since roman times would take a little more thinking about than what this petition offers.

"gets the press to highlight how many people do not want inheritance tax to exist"

if you had a poll saying income tax was lowered from 22 to 15% you would get just as many people saying "good idea"...and about as likely to happen!

Last edited by The Snug Rhino; 26 February 2007 at 09:11 AM. Reason: .
Old 26 February 2007, 10:58 AM
Leslie
Scooby Regular

This tax was initially intended to raise some money from the very rich members of society who owned houses in the value band for the tax. What has happened is that that band has not been effectively increased with inflation and house prices etc. so that more and more are unfairly dragged into having to pay it. Remember that the money it is paid on has already been taxed when it was counted as income, these are the principles that people are quite justified in complaining about.

If they want to make the taxes we pay more effective. then they should start by reducing the incredible waste in top heavy bureaucracy and handing our taxes out to people who do not deserve it.

Les
Old 26 February 2007, 11:35 AM
PeteBrant
Scooby Regular

Question for those wanting to scrap IHT - How will you replace the lost revenue?
Old 26 February 2007, 12:16 PM
r32
Scooby Regular

Wait for the next election .............
Old 26 February 2007, 12:56 PM
ru'