The Beginning of the End?

Search this Thread

Old 16 January 2007, 09:01 AM
pslewis
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question The Beginning of the End?

Or the Start of the Beginning??

The Inflation Rate may top 3% very soon ..... Interest Rates have GOT to go up significantly to arrest the situation.

The housing boom has ended, we know that, but is the forecast fall about to materialise?

I have been saying there will be a correction for a few years but the market has defied logic .......... this tells me that, when it happens, it is going to be a very big correction.

Any guesses for how big the drop in property values will be?

Any guesses at where the Interest Rate will top out?

Seeing as there is no Election looming I would guess the Government would rather get the worst out of the way quickly and get a recovery underway by the time of the next election?

It would be disastrous for the Government to try and steady a sinking ship and have it all sink come Election time - better to sink it now and then re-surface it later in time to be seen as the saviour of the economy.

So, I am thinking that 2007 will see a 10% fall in property values - 2008 will see 20% fall - before 2009 sees the falls stop and 2010 sees a small rise of 5%.

Interest rates will increase rapidly over the next 9 months to 8% and hold at that rate for 24 months - before dropping down to 6% in time for the Election.
Old 16 January 2007, 09:03 AM
lightning101
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If there is already a shortfall in housing supply, will everyone end up homeless then ?
Old 16 January 2007, 09:11 AM
pslewis
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by lightning101
If there is already a shortfall in housing supply, will everyone end up homeless then ?
There is a point at which people simply cannot afford to pay the price - whether they NEED a house or not!