Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Anyone into rock / indoor wall climbing?

Search this Thread

Old 03 December 2006, 03:28 PM
NeilT
Former Sponsor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Anyone into rock / indoor wall climbing?

I'm thinking of doing an indoor beginners course down in Leics as I've always fancied a go at rock climbing.

Anyone else into it? Any tips for a complete beginner?

Neil
Old 03 December 2006, 04:39 PM
106rallye
Scooby Regular

I go regularly and you get all sorts doing it from the hardcore shirts off 7A and up climbers to people working on the same boldering problem for ages.

Do you know what kit they give you when you learn and what the outcome of the course is? Also are you going on your own or with someone?

The only reason I ask is that the correct shoes make all the difference you will be amazed what you can stand on with the correct footware. They are supposed to be tight but the technology is vastly improved so you shouldn't wear a pair that feels like your feet are in a vice!

If you go with someone else that enjoys it as well then you will have someone to go climbing with when you pass the safety test that I presume they will have to allow you to climb unsupervised. Its good to have a regular climbing partner as you build up confidence and ability together .

Secondly if like me you have a healthy respect for hights coming down can be worse than going up the first few times.

You will be told all this I am sure but make sure you let go of the wall comletely with your hands and lean back almost 80-90 degrees to the wall (obviously not if its overhanging )otherwise if you slip you end up with a face full of the wall which is not pleasent!

oh and wear loose fitting clothes as you don't want them to rip at the wrong moment!

Other than that have fun! Its well worth giving it a go

Andy

Last edited by 106rallye; 03 December 2006 at 04:41 PM.
Old 03 December 2006, 05:11 PM
///\oo/\\\
Scooby Regular