Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

TA - Proposal for them to serve 1 year in every 5

Search this Thread

Old 13 November 2006, 12:39 PM
Jerome
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry TA - Proposal for them to serve 1 year in every 5

According to the Sunday Times, defence chiefs want to force Territorial Army (TA) soldiers to serve 1 year in every 5 years on operational service (ie Iraq, Afghanistan). See here for the story.

Personally, as a serving TA soldier, I think this is outrageous.

Firstly, the TA is having huge problems with retention and recruitment. The TA being routinely used for Iraq and Afghanistan is putting many off. That is with the possible prospect of about 6 months operational service every 5 years, because you are not certain to be called up. What would a guaranteed year away every 5 years do?

Not only that, but what employer in his right mind would employ a member of the TA? I bloody wouldn't for starters. I'd be in 2 minds with the current situation, let alone if this madness goes through.

I work in IT as contractor. I would find it very hard to get work after having barely touched a computer for a year, as current experience is everything in IT. Also, I doubt the Army would pay anywhere near my full salary.

Typical that successive defence budget cuts have lead to this situation. A TA soldier cannot compare to the experience of a regular soldier. That was fine for the home defence role, where you might be guarding a site of importance in the UK. But it is not fine in a fully operational environment such as Iraq/Afghanistan. When I was called up in 2003, I got 8 days extra training to prepare me for Iraq. Yet I was doing the job of someone who had spent at least 7 years doing the same job full time.