help: unauthorised use of copyrighted images

Search this Thread

Old 12 September 2006, 05:14 PM
gso
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy help: unauthorised use of copyrighted images

Dear SN Massive,

Need some advice, I've had a letter from a company called Superstock.com saying i've been using a copyrighted image on my website for the last 2 years, without proper licencing... I need to remove the image from our website and pay them $3,600!!!!!!!!!!

They've sent me a copy of my site from www.archive.org from 2004 using the same image! Just wondered, before i speak to a solicitor of some sort, if anyone had experiences something like this before??

I provided the image to the website developers, so I cant blame them... and it was provided to me on a cd by a developer (ok..they didnt say i could put it on the website!)

I've had mixed reports... chap from the advertising firm has said "unlucky... but the bset you could do is try and reduce the bill..."

and the webdesign agency said they've had 4 in the last month and completely ignored them....

Will they really get far being a US based company and my site being hosted in the UK???

Any help would be really appreciated!!!
Old 12 September 2006, 05:22 PM
Simon C
Scooby Regular

I'd say they have got you bang to rights, with no agreement anywhere your liable and I'd agree with the ad guy.

I know if you had done that with 1 of my images, I'd be going for alot more than that!!!!

Unintentionally though it is its theft.
Old 12 September 2006, 05:27 PM
EVOLUTION
Scooby Regular

have you made personal gain from the image?

are you a company, or is it you personaly they are going after?
Old 12 September 2006, 06:21 PM
DCI Gene Hunt
Scooby Senior

George................... You're Fcuked....

Cheque book time............
Old 12 September 2006, 07:39 PM
Warwick-hunt
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by Simon C