Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Career Change out of IT....?? [Serious]

Search this Thread

Old 03 February 2006, 12:25 AM
Andy Tang
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Career Change out of IT....?? [Serious]

I've been working in IT for over 11 years now, but there must be more to life!!

I've worked on a help desk, in a logistics department, in house bench engineer, on site project engineer, help desk manager, IT consultant, business analyst, project manager and as an IT manager.

I've worked for small companies, large companies, small companies that have been bought out by bigger companies.

I've been outsourced to financial, legal, local govenment, construction and manufacturing sectors.

I've worked for resellers, in the direct marketing industry and legal services sector.

In all this time, I've only been made redundant twice, but I'm now thinking of leaving IT completely.

Problem is, I don't know what I'd rather do instead!! Is there anywhere I can get career advice or guidence?
Old 03 February 2006, 12:32 AM
pslewis
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Career Guidance Office at the Jobcentre????

Pete
Old 03 February 2006, 12:38 AM
mark1234
Scooby Regular

Location: Where women glow and men plunder, Xbox Gamertag Upsidedownmark

If you work it out, tell me

Seriously, the only help I can offer is 'What colour is your parachute' - Richard Boles (IIRC), worth a read at least, not IT specific, but aimed at helping you work out the answer to the question.
Old 03 February 2006, 12:44 AM
Andy Tang
Scooby Regular

Thanks Pete

Mark, I guess need to know the question before I can answer, if that makes any sense?
Old 03 February 2006, 08:02 AM
SJ_Skyline
Scooby Senior

Best of luck Andy!
Old 03 February 2006, 09:49 AM
ChefDude
Scooby Regular

PADI diving instructor
Old 03 February 2006, 10:00 AM
boxst
Scooby Regular

Hello