Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Anybody watching "The Garage" on Discovery?

Search this Thread

Old 31 January 2006, 10:21 AM
EddScott
Scooby Regular

Received 64 Likes on 32 Posts
Default Anybody watching "The Garage" on Discovery?

Not sure if many have caught this but its about a garage in Spain run by a Scot and all the mechanics are brits.

Some of it is pretty good. However, I was surprised by a couple of things they did last night.

1) one of the mechanics brought in a BMW E36 which had just died for no apparent reason. One of the lads said he thought it was the cam belt that had snapped but minutes before he tried to turn the engine over. I'm not a mechanic and don't really know too much about engines but I always thought if you think its the cam belt the last thing you do is try and turn it over.

2) They trek out to a scrappy to buy a replacement engine for the beemer. They pay £200 for an engine from an E30 and spend 3 hours taking it out. Now fair enough it did fit in the end but at no point did anyone ask the question of whether the engine from the E30 would fit the E36. Bit of a gamble spending the £200 plus the 3 hours during work time to pull it out.

It just seems odd that only half of them seem to know what they are doing and it doesn't look very cost effective to have 3 employees working on a employees' car. Good watching IMO, especially when the boss loses it.
Old 31 January 2006, 11:26 AM
MikeCardiff
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've been watching this - with the beemer it was similar to what race teams call an 'electrical fault' - meaning that the spark plug stopped working shortly after the engine blew itself to bits and the piston smashed into it.

I thought on a previous episode it said one of the lads used to work for a BMW dealer, sure he was one of the ones in the scrapyard, so he probably knew the engine would fit and they just thought it would make better TV to pretend they didnt.