Any Fellow DJ's out there?

Search this Thread

Old 14 December 2005, 02:21 PM
snerkler
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Any Fellow DJ's out there?

Hi,
Pretty much as the title says really, although I'm talking about DJ's that beat mix and scratch, NOT your friendly wedding/disco DJ or radio DJ's. I'm wondering if people are interested in sharing there DJing experiences, styles, and musical preferences
I've been DJing for about 10 years now. Originally started with soundlab belt drive turntables and d mixer. Then I upgraded about a year later to Technics SL1210 MK2's with a Numark 1100xi mixer. Later changed my mixer to a Vestax PMC-05 Pro 2, but now I have Technics SL1210 MK5G's and a Pioneer DJM-909 scratch and effects mixer.
When I originally started DJing I was into Happy Hardcore, and shortly after also started playing Jungle and Drum 'n Bass.
In 1996 (I think) I got to the national DJ finals and played to a crowd of 1500-2000 ravers at the Pleasuredome in Skegness. The following year I was provisionally offered a regular spot at Club Vibealite in Chesterfield, a spin off from Vibealite. However, I was also offered a place at Chiropractic College (In Bournemouth) at the same time, and obviously thought it was a better career move to study chiropractic. Since then I've not done any gigs as such, just parties and college events.
Still love the "wheels of steel" and have now expanded my musical tastes to include Trance (both uplifting and Progressive), Hip Hop, and Oldskool (Late 80's-early nineties). Still love Drum 'N Bass and Happy Hardcore though (Sad but true) Have progressed quite nicely with my scratching over the past few years but still nowhere near as good as I'd like to be.
Anyway, I'd love to hear from other DJ's
P.S. If you're into scratching then I would seriously recommend DJ Qberts Scratch tutorial DVD “Qberts complete DIY scratching volume 1”. All I can say is Fantastic (shame the 2nd one’s not as good)