Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

How to ruin your weekend (sorry rant)

Search this Thread

Old 23 October 2005, 01:52 PM
Simon C
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to ruin your weekend (sorry rant)

Yesterday was a cracker of a day. Went to the cash machine today to find that my card had been maxed out, a biiiiiiiig suprize considering that I still have the card in my hand. Now luckily its only an ATM card so they only got £300 which I'll get back from the bank. However this is a warning, I only use major high st bank ATM's, always check the card reader for signs of tampering and the such (I work in the banking industry).

Luckily I have 2 accounts, so I'm not dead in the water, but I am at Scoobyclinic tomorrow so whilst they are working on my car (hope they don't find anything unexpected that I haven't budgeted for) I have to go to the bank and get this matter sorted out.

A major inconveniance that i could do without, and suprizing considering the precautions I take.

To say I'm now pi55ed off and dreading the bill for tomorrow (I was transfering more cash to cover the unseen). It didn't help that my bank kept me waiting for over an hour. I ended up ringing their lost and stolen number to get this sorted.

Sorry rant over.
Old 23 October 2005, 07:42 PM
Ken 275
Scooby Regular

Thumbs down

The card's been cloned.

It happened to my company CC. I got the statement in and it had Curry's, Safeway and Dixon's all over it. Felt as guilty as Hell. £2.9K worth!

They got the bar-stewardess though...

Distressing.

K.
Old 23 October 2005, 07:57 PM
Scooby Soon!
Scooby Regular

I have seen one of these clone covers and I guarantee that you can not tell the differance when it is fitted to the machine, only thing you can do is be prepared that this could happen. eg always have a couple of spare credit cards to use in emergency until the others can be sorted out.
Old 23 October 2005, 08:00 PM
STi-Frenchie
Scooby Regular