Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Problem With Mountain Bike

Search this Thread

Old 09 June 2005, 09:26 PM
Terzo 333
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Problem With Mountain Bike

During the winter months the after market (aluminium) seat post seems to have corroded with the steel bike. Result ? The post will not move up or down at all

I've tried WD40 and a large hammer to free the post but it won't shift

Has anyone any suggestions ? (The WD40 has only been on about 48hrs - do I need to leave it longer

Thanks for the help
Old 09 June 2005, 09:45 PM
SupaMiniCupa
Scooby Regular

Do you have access to a vice secured to a bench?

If you were able to secure the seat post to the vice then the rest of the bike may give enough leverage...?

I don't seem to remember any specific tricks from when I worked in the bike trade apart from the above...
Old 09 June 2005, 10:33 PM
dr_ming
Scooby Regular

Plus-Gas is a much better dismantling lubricant than WD40, but frankly, I think you'll be lucky to get it out that way. However, you could also try removing the bottom-bracket and shooting some Plus-Gas in from the other side - no harm in trying.

If the vice suggestion doesn't work (and I would be surprised if it does - the static friction between the oxidised seat post and the steel frame will be huge), you will have no choice but to cut off the post at the top of the seat tube and ream it out with an expanding reamer. Not a cheap tool though!. You should be able to do this without damaging the frame, as the aluminium is so much softer than the steel.

Good luck - and maybe next time get some PTFE grease?
Old 09 June 2005, 11:45 PM
Jap2Scrap
Scooby Regular

To be honest something will give using the vice method. You'll exert enough torque to twist the seatpost out of shape if it doesn't free up.