Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Anybody else giving up smoking?

Search this Thread

Old 27 May 2005, 11:16 PM
Deep Singh
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Anybody else giving up smoking?

I've been smoking for over 15 years and thought enough is enough. First real attempt at giving up and I'm on day 7. Using gum/patches, its fooking murder!!
Anybody else in the middle of giving up?
Old 27 May 2005, 11:20 PM
pslewis
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Carry on!!!!

I stopped 6 years ago after 30 years of smoking - 40 a day - at first I was as ill as ill could be (had an Operation and other things went wrong ) I think your body 'backfires' when you stop .........

But now, 6 years on, its soooooooo much better!!

I wish you all the best mate!!

Pete
Old 27 May 2005, 11:22 PM
Mrs WRX
Scooby Regular

Yes, my other half gave up 2 months ago after years of smoking. He gave up a couple of years ago, he used patches but they made him feel sick. This time he has used the gum and so far touch wood it seems to have worked. He is only using ordinary gum now and he feels o.k. He gave up as a condition of buying the scooby. I think he is taking my threat of "If i catch you smoking again i will take the scooby down to the local Maccy D's and let all the boy racers thrash the crap out of it" very seriously
Old 28 May 2005, 08:42 AM
Deep Singh
Scooby Regular

Thanks PSL

Mrs WRX, yes I promised myself a new car if I stay off them. In saved money, decrease in life insurance premiums and a few extra years of life to earn money I think it evens out!!

Deep
Old 28 May 2005, 08:57 AM
Leslie
Scooby Regular

The way to look at it is that if you do stop there is every chance you might avoid the quad bypass I had to have which is no picnic, or even worse than that. That may strengthen the resolve!

You won't believe how much extra cash you will have too

Good luck anyway.

Les
Old 28 May 2005, 09:35 AM
4X4BOB
Scooby Regular