Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Let or Sell? New perspective needed!

Search this Thread

Old 20 May 2005, 12:33 PM
*Jen*
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Let or Sell? New perspective needed!

Hello all

I've thought about this so much now I've got to the stage where I can't actually make a decision

Moved in with my boyfriend 2 1/2 months ago, we've been together for almost 8 months now and knew each other for about a year before hand.

I have my own house, a little 1 bed cluster house, 2 parking spaces, front and back garden, power shower etc.etc... just outside Southampton in Hampshire. Obviously, there's no need to have a house standing empty so a decision needs to be made to rent or sell. I'm no expert and am not really looking for experts, just opinions of others that aren't 'involved' in the situation (and I've been boring my friends enough )

To let the property through an agent would cost me approx. £50 a month. (allowing for putting some money aside for maintenence etc.). I have an offer from a neighbour who wants to rent from me directly, but I'm unsure about the risks etc. involved in this... if I did it this route I could probably 'make' £25 a month.

There's roughly £48,000 worth of 'cash' available if I sell the house, which would sell easily at the moment for £120,000 (4 in the close have gone in tha last 2 months). This would then be put in a savings account until such time as I'm comfortable to make a more long term committment and put the money into the house we share at the moment. (although I'd have to go the extra long way to work everyday to avoid the Scooby dealer )

I'm very wary having been 'caught out' in a relationship in the past, it's taken me a long time to get my own place and I don't want to take any unnecessary risks, although I am more than happy with my relationship at the moment . Any 'outside/logical' opinions on this matter would be greatly apriecaited

Thanks for your time,

Jen