Poor form in the gym....

Search this Thread

Old 18 April 2005, 04:52 PM
Tiggs
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Poor form in the gym....

2nd gym post of mine!

Started back in the gym after a few years off last week.....i used to be an instructor so allways had pretty good form.

MY GODDDDD.....people havent got any better at using the equipment have they?

few examples that made me laugh/cry:

Tricep pushdowns: Range of movement from lockout to...ohh, about 2cms from lockout....weight LOADS!!!!

Seated Rows: range of movment....bar about 4 inches from chest to bar about 8 inches from chest....weight LOADS!!!!

Assisted Pull up machine: now im heavy so i appreciate the need for an assisted chin machine...but....saw a bloke using a LOT of assistanec on it for wide grip pull ups. I wasnt sure how much help it offered....until he took a hand off and wiped his brow.....AT THE TOP OF THE MOVEMENT!!!!!!!

Curls: i thought he was doing 21's until he put the dumbells down- range of movemnet- 3 inches!

Lastly, bloke after me on the leg press- i set the sled a long way back as im 6ft6.....and use the full stack for my last set. Bloke on after me doesnt adjust the sled so his knee is almost fully extended before he even presses it! He then reps out 10 on the full stack, range of movemnet- 6 inches, bounces of the stack springs on every rep...in fact his last rep was still bouncy on the springs 2 mins after he finished!!!!

Funny/sad all rolled into one!
Old 18 April 2005, 04:59 PM
Daryl
Scooby Senior

Originally Posted by Tiggs
Funny/sad all rolled into one!
Just like you!
Old 18 April 2005, 05:02 PM
GaryScoobNCBR
Scooby Regular

Tiggs, this is far too comon but you have to learn to ignore all the egos.

It used to wind me up but now i just leave them to it, I just glad i've realised that good form = Best