Dickhead Project Managers

Search this Thread

Old 18 April 2005, 10:23 AM
03-CTR
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ******** Project Managers

<rant>

not normally the sort of post i'd put up (so apologies in advance) but i'm having a load of problems wity my project manager and would therefore appreciate any advice you folks could give.

having worked for the past 6 years as a design engineer i've had two fantastic managers (is this possible ) who have been extremely professional and have trusted my team to produce results. recently however the last one has moved on to pastures green and my group has now inherited an up and coming manager that's only just got his mba. lacking any 'real' experience he's making our lives hell by micro managing and nit picking at everything we do. at meetings we put forward ideas to solve everyday design problems etc but he's never happy with them, casts them aside and then dictates to us his own ideas which are often short sighted and unfeasible (as he's not an engineer and does not understand the basic principles). to say we're all cheesed off is an understatement but sadly my colleagues are not the sort of guys to stand up to him. i've already approached him and made a complaint but he's disregarded my concerns and has carried on as usual.

now i love my job and want to keep it but am getting to the point where i don't want to put my name on anything he manages as his ideas are crap. i could go above him and make an official complaint but don't want to be seen as a grass.

my question is therefore, what can i do to get shot of this ******** without making myself look a snitch ??

</rant>
Old 18 April 2005, 10:52 AM
IWatkins
Scooby Regular

I've been in the same situation and it wasn't nice. We had a four year project and the manager of the project changed after year two. The new manager didn't have a clue but made out he did, especially when faced with his managers.