Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

segregation in our schools? wtf?

Search this Thread

Old 07 March 2005, 10:51 AM
Jamo
Cooking on Calor

Received 7 Likes on 2 Posts
Default segregation in our schools? wtf?

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/itn1374262.html

Originally Posted by yahoo news
Black boys may have to be taught separately from their peers to help them do better at school, the Commission for Racial Equality has said.
anyone else find this strange?

jamo
Old 07 March 2005, 10:55 AM
STi wanna Subaru
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

He also called for more male black teachers, tempting them with extra cash if necessary.
Now if I was a teacher and this happened imagine how you would feel about it.
davegtt
Scooby Senior

make me laugh, that statement coming from the commision for racial equality basically saying equality isnt what we want....
TheBigMan
Scooby Regular

Blacks are under achieving (apparently). If all parties are happy - why not.

The simple solution is academic level banding whereby equally academically capable pupils are taught together. Any school with any intelligence operates in this way.
Old 07 March 2005, 11:09 AM
ALi-B
Support Scoobynet!

Received 301 Likes on 240 Posts

The bloke has noticed a trend, and is trying to do something about it.

If all men are equal...then why are the black kids under-achiveing? It's a social issue and he's right to address it.

How about a ban on rap/gangsta culture while we're at it?
Old 07 March 2005, 11:14 AM
STi wanna Subaru
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by ALi-B
The bloke has noticed a trend, and is trying to do something about it.

If all men are equal...then why are the black kids under-achiveing? It's a social issue and he's right to address it.

How about a ban on rap/gangsta culture while we're at it?
What about integration? This would cause an even bigger case of 'them and us' if it exists and if it doesn't it's likely to cause it to some extent.