Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Job advice

Search this Thread

Old 23 February 2004, 04:54 PM
borich
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Job advice

finish my degree in june and am looking to go into full time work. I have done a degree which i have enjoyed but now im kind of seeing the problem with the degree is theres a lack of well paid jobs for it. My degree is Industrial archaeology with american studies. I am thinking about going into the police force but not for a year or so. So I am looking for a job for the next 12 months which will pay my rent and let me run my car. Any job which doesn't enlove hours and hours of work for crap pay! I have done my share of crap student jobs! I worked out that i can live easily on 900 a month. so i am wondering if anyone can suggest a line of work around 15k a year will do.

Borich
Old 23 February 2004, 05:14 PM
milo
Scooby Regular

15k/year for a "job" with no experience is quite hard really (unless you're in london) but do-able.

if you were after a career.. id say get on a graduate training program for a big company.. and you'll easily make 15-20k with salary rising pretty rapidly.

if you're only after a job for a year.. working in a bank? some kind of customer service job? various temping office jobs? do you have any skills to offer (specific IT skills, programming etc)? most of these types of jobs seem to advertise circa 12-15k.

its quite sad when after a 3-4 year degree you only JUST realise that there arent any jobs out there that pay enough in your field (not a dig at you - a LOT of people are in that situation). how come you took that degree in the first place?

btw, why not join the force now if thats what u want to do?
Old 23 February 2004, 05:31 PM
borich
Scooby Regular