Scooby96
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Persistent as this property is going to auction on 15th Dec and I want it
Old 08 December 2003, 10:44 AM
yoza
BANNED

Does your local FireBrigade have 'Thermal Imaging Equipment'?

If they havent, I suggest you move.

In the meantime sleep with a helmet on.
Old 08 December 2003, 10:46 AM
yoza
BANNED

Oh, you want to buy it.........

Unless its extreemly cheap I wouldnt bother.

PS. Im no expert, but Ive seen a few nasty cracks in my time.
Old 08 December 2003, 10:55 AM
tiggers
Scooby Regular

Scooby96,

A lot of the time cracks such as these can be small settlement cracks and will never get any worse, but sometimes they are indicative of a bigger problem.

The only real way to find out is to put some measuring devices on them and record the gaps over time or commision a full structural survey. The former requires lots of time (which you don't have) and the latter lots of money (which you may have).

Sorry I can't be of any more help than that, but this sort of thing is a tricky area.

Regards,

tiggers.
Old 08 December 2003, 11:00 AM
mattstant
Scooby Regular

Thumbs up

scooby 96 only just got youre emails and i am sifting through them now no acces at home as my computer is kaput and flu sat/sun stopped me getting into work to pick up private stuff.

On the cracks front most look like oldish settlement but that end wall looks serious and an attempt has been made along time ago to rectify.
That funy iron cross is a big tie bar some times these were put in on gables in course of construction but in this case it seems to be to correct a fault.

just seen you only have till 15th without structural survey WALK AWAY now its these impulsive buys which get you into deep ****

My instinct based purely on those photos would be dont touch with a barge pole especially without an extensive structural survey and NOT by one of those tame building society muppets either.

[Edited by mattstant - 12/8/2003 12:13:20 PM]