Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Learning Arabic

Search this Thread

Old 28 May 2003, 08:01 PM
Little Miss WRX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Can anyone direct me to an good online places where I can start to learn arabic. Preferably with audio?

A lot of the football (read soccer for Americans and Aussies and any other awkward buggers ) teams are Arabic and some of the players don't speak very good English.

As a referee, I would like to be able to know when they are using abusive language towards each other. Some of them are quite sneaky and revert to Arabic so that the majority of us officials have no idea what they are saying.
I would also like to learn it in order to communicate easier to the ones who struggle with English normally during matches, rather than expect them all to have a good grasp of the language.
Old 28 May 2003, 08:27 PM
mj
Scooby Regular

Elif air ab tizak,Mos zibbi.

Ikla hudumak & Elhasi teezi

Edited out due to the language on the link - thank you for the help, but sorry it had to go! I have bookmarked the site though, thanks again.

[Edited by Little Miss WRX - 5/28/2003 8:56:44 PM]
Old 28 May 2003, 08:48 PM
Little Miss WRX

Thumbs up

Just a few!!!!

Now I just have to perfect pronunciation and such so that I don't mis-hear anything on the field!

PS. Cheers for the offer, but I will decline.

[Edited by Little Miss WRX - 5/28/2003 8:58:36 PM]
Old 28 May 2003, 08:59 PM
Black Cat
Scooby Regular

Thumbs up

You do lead an interesting life .... go girl....!!!
Old 28 May 2003, 09:13 PM
Little Miss WRX

Cool

Interesting is definitely an appropriate word!! It gets me out and about though.

I sometimes wonder why I went into refereeing after matches like the ones this last weekend (see sport section - violence on the pitch), I think it is because I love football....it has to be!!! I don't normally like being verbally abused....
Old 28 May 2003, 09:32 PM
Black Cat
Scooby Regular