Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Anyone play squash here?

Search this Thread

Old 05 March 2003, 03:50 PM
NeilT
Former Sponsor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking

I've been playing for a few years and aint bad but need to improve me game (keep gettin' beat )

Anyone else play? Anyone know any good links with info on improving your game?

Neil
www.scoobyworld.co.uk

Old 05 March 2003, 03:52 PM
ProperCharlie
Scooby Regular

I keep getting beat as well, even though been playing for about 5 years. Feel any better now?

Charlie.
Old 05 March 2003, 10:32 PM
Hugh138
Scooby Regular

Like any sport, practice makes perfect. Key to squash is to make your opponent do the running (ie play the ball wherever he/she isn't), control the T, and know when to play aggressive or defensive.

A book I've found useful in the past is Ian McKenzie's Squash Skills - this version looks to be updated from the one I have but its probably just cosmetic.

The problem with squash is that there will always be someone better than you, and the nature of the game means that a marginal difference in skill ends up in a very one-sided scoreline usually. Playing against different players is to be recommended because that way you learn a few tricks from other people's playing styles.

The other key to squash is being fit of course Being able to run shots down in the 5th set is a definite bonus.

Hugh
Old 05 March 2003, 11:26 PM
RaZe-=Buzz=-
Scooby Regular

Ive been playing twenty years (Im 30 now) and at 18 stone I have to be reasonably skillful as Im obviously not fast. I rely on my years of experience to read the game and my opponents shots and technical ability (I had a lot of professional coaching as a kid) to beat players much fitter than myself with good shots.

Not blowing my own trumpet (much ) but I was a county player for a few years when I was 12-16 ish and played in tournaments around the country.