Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Buying a gee-tah!!

Search this Thread

Old 06 January 2003, 06:44 PM
IanWatson
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
hello all!

I'm seriously contemplating buying my first electric guitar and would appreciate some suggestions. I've learnt so far on a steel-strung acoustic, but after a year it's time to rock!

I want something pretty versatile - my musical tastes are wide, but I definately want something I can play jazz/blues with - as well as rock.

Budget is flexible - I don't want to have to upgrade to gig.

My background is as a bassist - I love the sound and feel of my US Fender Jazz bass played through a 4x10 Trace, but my initially gut feelings are pushing me towards a Gibson Les Paul rather than a Strat.

The amp is also a tricky situation - I'm temporarily living away from UK (and got no one to jam with - hence learning guitar as well as bass!) and already have too much kit - would it be a waste to buy a small practise amp or should I just whack it though the Trace Elliot?

I know I need to try 'em out - but it would be really handy for some suggestions of alternatives to try out and any pros/cons etc
so I don't walk into the guitar shop feeling a complete muppet.

cheers in advance!

Old 06 January 2003, 06:51 PM
ScoobyDoo555
Scooby Regular

Depends what your budget is - but I'd go for something like and Fender Tele.....

With a Line 6 pre-amp/ processor.....

Other guitars to look at are a PRS, Patrick Eggle, or something like that...

The usuals are stuff like the Les Paul, which is a great guitar, but very distinctive in its sound. Same deal for a Fender Strat or Gretsch etc.....

Other amps to look at are the Marshall (eh.... OK, I suppose..) or the Boss stuff or even Zoom (very distinctive sounding though)...

Just my 2p

Dan (not a guitarist, but worked with alot of artists who used loads of guitars - look @ my website/profile )
Old 06 January 2003, 06:56 PM
IanWatson
Scooby Regular

cheers Dan