Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Help needed with cv

Search this Thread

Old 13 August 2002, 03:55 PM
Paulo P
Scooby Regular

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Red face

Not for me but my Fiancee is trying to get another job but I have been told by someone in the know that her cv is not very good . Has anyone got any genuine tips?

Thanks in advance
Old 13 August 2002, 07:47 PM
kav
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Hi mate

Maybe not the definitive guide but this works for me:

1. No more than 2 pages
2. Start with with name, address and contact number
3. Start with most recent job first, describing the role and any achievements/targets achieved.
4. Probably last 4 jobs is sufficient.
5. Qualifications next.
6. Then interests.
7. Then referees.

I work in sales so I've done a one-side summary sheet of all the major deals I've done.

Remember, the CV is designed to get you to the interview - that's when the real action starts.

Best of luck!
Cheers
Kav
Old 13 August 2002, 07:53 PM
carl
Scooby Regular

I find it's best to have a 'Summary' section near the top describing the sort of work you do (e.g. "A Unix Systems Adminstrator with 10 years experience of blah blah blah") and some of your key skills and recent achievements. Put it between number two and three -- potential recruiters can easily identify whether you're suitable. Make sure your name is pretty big too (all too easy to remember the skillset but not the name of the candidate) and put it in the header or footer of page 2. List only relevant professional qualifications, and the highest level of academic qualification (if you have a degree, forget that you ever did A-levels).
Old 13 August 2002, 08:03 PM
Chris L
Scooby Regular

Talking

Hi Paul