Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Which 35mm SLR Camera?

Search this Thread

Old 11 July 2002, 09:34 AM
Seamus300
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

I want to buy a decent 35mm SLR camera with a lens that I can remove and swap for different types/sizes etc. I have a basic understanding of shutter speeds/focal lengths and all that, however I have no idea what is a good camera and what isn't. I have a reasonable budget (well I think so) of about £500 absolute max. Anyone got any tips/advice? I have spent a while trawling around the net but I have no idea what is a good buy and what isn't. Any advice gratefully received!

Cheers, Sean
Old 11 July 2002, 09:46 AM
ChrisB

I was a newbie to the SLR market place back in February and went for a Minolta Dynax 5 with 25-80 and 75 to 300m lenses. I got it from my local Jessops shop as they did a good deal on price and 6 months 0% credit.

http://www.virtualtraveller.org/dynax5review.htm is a good read.

"For people who want the beginnings of a camera system, and are likely to eventually buy some expensive lenses and other kit, I recommend the EOS 300. For people who just want the best camera for the money, I recommend the Dynax 5."

My final decision was down to the EOS300 and Dynax 5.

I asked on here when I was looking and good some very helpful advice from Josh, Hoppy, Andy C and a few others.
Old 11 July 2002, 09:54 AM
Luke
BANNED

I would buy Canon all day long. Their focusing is very fast and quiet. The spares are easy to get ( Try getting an Olympus fixed!!)
You could get a good second hand one from "Jacobs" or "Fords" with a one year guarantee... Why buy new??? Also when you want ot buy new/SH lenses it will be easier to buy Canon. An EOS 5 with a 28 -135 lens would be my Pickb for the money
Old 11 July 2002, 11:28 AM
father_jack
Scooby Regular

I'd go old school and get an old Pentax or Nikon. None of this autofocus nonsense.