Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Anhydrite screed preparation for tiles

Search this Thread

Old 14 April 2022, 07:57 AM
hedgecutter
Scooby Regular

Received 640 Likes on 466 Posts
Default Anhydrite screed preparation for tiles

Any tilers/ builders on here? I'm interested in hearing your preparation methods/tips for tiling on Anhydritic flow screeds with ufh. 15mm limestone tiles.
thanks

Last edited by hedgecutter; 14 April 2022 at 02:10 PM.
Old 14 April 2022, 10:18 AM
BMWhere?
Scooby Senior

Received 229 Likes on 168 Posts

Originally Posted by hedgecutter
Any tilers/ builders on here? I'm interested in hearing your preparation methods/tips for tiling on Anhydritic flow screeds with ufh. 15mm limestone tiles.
thanks
I'm not a pro, but tiled a room in my cellar over Christmas with a screed floor and under-floor heating. For my first shot at tiling I was very pleased with my results!

First sweep the floor, remove any dust and debris. Flow screed should normally be dead flat, but you may find some protrusions at the edges which you may want to remove. Any small unevenness isn't a problem as the tile cement will even everything out.

Pre-treated the screed with a primer -> https://www.pci-augsburg.eu/en/produ...oxigrund-rapid

Then used a flexible tile cement -> https://www.pci-augsburg.eu/en/produ...flexmoertel-s1

Not sure how easy the above products will be to get in the UK, but there will at least be an equivalent.
The flexible tile cement is really important if you have under-floor heating!

I recommend using a tile levelling+spacing system to get the tiles nice an even.