Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Fallen for a scam

Search this Thread

Old 07 January 2015, 05:01 PM
ScoobyWon't
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fallen for a scam

Just been reading this over on Pistonheads.

Originally Posted by tjob
Hello chaps,

Long story: I had an email enquiry from a guy wanting his M3 detailing, few emails back and forwards and his email signature had his Instagram and twitter, as you do I went on for a prod around to see what's what. Turns out he is a Forex trader (foreign exchange stock broker essentially), and offers managed accounts etc.

So after I said I wasn't willing to travel 200 miles to detail his car, conversation turned to his company and what could he do with just a couple hundred quid of mine in a managed account, letting him trade my cash and then I can withdraw at any point. Now I'm totally new to the stock market side of things, but he seemed to know what he was talking about, provided me proof of clients accounts he manages, print screens of him sending people money & visa versa. He gave me his address(es) and a photo of his driving licence. I dug far into his Twitter and facebook etc and everything tied up, so figured Id give it a go, and sent £350. Not a huge amount, but he stated this was his minimum account deposit and for me, it was a tester really to see if it's all legit, I would perhaps put more in ONCE he has proved he is worth it.

So, daily contact was fine, updating me on how he's made £80 for me, then £110 the next day, so I then asked if I could withdraw it. Bit of profit, and proves he can be trusted.

Turns out there was a 30 day minimum account period, funny, never told me that and it doesn't state that on the website, and I specifically asked if I could take money out as and when with no notice period.

Anyway, contact became scarce, I'd get a blunt reply '£1245', no details, just an account balance.