Notices
Member's Gallery Pictures of your pride and joy

My First WRX 03... (Help required too)

Search this Thread

Old 24 July 2008, 08:16 PM
stolen_monkey
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My First WRX 03... (Help required too)

Howdo.
Total new to scoob ownership, so got a few questions. I've not touched it (apart from starting to remove the boot badges..) and its got a few non-standard bits on it... but have a look and see if you can help:

I've got receipts for the splitter - is it an STI one? It doesn't say on my paperwork, but it does say that its a genuine part.

Stainless cat back & another splitter. The exhaust isn't documented, but the splitter was done the same time as the front.

The lip spoiler on the back window cost £300! crazy. Again, it shows as a genuine part.. do STI's have these? - total noob as I've said already.

Clean as a whistle under there. doesn't look like there have been any engine mods. - although it could have been remapped...

Anyway, I love the car. Its a superb colour, which when caught in the sun, has a gold tint.

- It needs a service, but I am going to get the oil and filter myself. Any recommendations in this area? I.E, what type of oil, how much (in terms of Litres) and any special requirements on the filter? For info, it is just 48k on the clock.

- The brakes are pathetic. I knew they were suspect when I bought it and have set money aside to remedy. Have a look at the front:

The discs are all like this.

The driver side caliper is either rusty or burnt! The car has only done 5k in the last year, so thought they needed a blast. I worked them and worked them, but they are still the same. I thought they were going to set on fire when I stopped!

As mentioned, the backs are the same.