Member's Gallery Pictures of your pride and joy

Spec C Type RA

Search this Thread

Old 13 November 2020, 02:56 PM
adam.pah
Scooby Regular

Received 453 Likes on 306 Posts
Default Spec C Type RA

I've always loved the look of the Spec C Type RA. I love the clean lines when the side skirts and giant spoiler are taken away, and the smaller carbon fibre spoiler and Enkei alloys give it a purposeful but subtle aggression.
I've been keeping my eye out for a nice clean example for a couple of years now and had almost given up on finding what I wanted. It had to be white, lowish mileage and unmodified. As I already own a highly modified blob, I wanted this to be as close to standard as possible.

I saw this one advertised on FB back in August, a fresh import with only 32k miles on the clock. I provisionally agreed for the seller to hold it until I could come and see it, which I did the following weekend and promptly put a deposit down.

Although the car is very clean, there were some bits I wanted tidying before I took delivery on the car. The front splitter was missing and the suspension has been swapped out for a set of in-car adjustables. The car was really low and the wheels had rubbed the arches so the previous owner had had them rolled! Also, the front winglets had been scraped and rear arch extensions had a couple of chips. The front calipers were looking a little worse for wear and the cat was cracked.

Rather than mess around with the front wings, we decided to replace them. At the same time we'd add new genuine winglets, front splitter and rear arch extenders. While the car is at the paintshop, it will also get a clear underseal and caliper refurbish. So here are some pictures so far, please bare in mind that the car is fresh off the boat and hasn't been detailed or even properly washed yet.

first day in the UK

The coilovers had to go

The original adjustable pink suspension was put back on

Off to paint

All back together