Notices

100W Bulbs and Loom melt-down

Search this Thread

Old 03 January 2002, 12:27 PM
Canuck
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

A dealer's solution to the poor quality lights in the Impreza was simply to install 80W/100W bulbs in my MY97. Fantastic improvement and all for just a few quid.
My question is that I've been reading recently that the wiring loom may not be able to handle the power and can actually fry! I have been running with these bulbs for a few months, but now that I have settled down to enjoy the car's handling through my B-road flings everyday my mind is starting to wonder and I've been worrying about this (God forbid they shoud blow just as I'm approaching one of my dodgier corners one night )

Can anybody put my mind to rest?

Ta in advance,
Canuck

ps. apologies if this's been done to death elsewhere - searching didn't work for me.
Old 03 January 2002, 12:47 PM
Markus
Scooby Regular

If the dealer has done this and the loom does melt then I'd have a 'little chat' with your dealer about what they are going to do about it.
Old 03 January 2002, 04:26 PM
darren tiday
Scooby Regular

Cool

i drive a my99 m8 and replaced my standard crap bulbs with PIAA 135/115 watt super white bulbs (that draw off 80/80 watts) and i've never had a problem in 2 years of use, fantastic powerful lights but the only downside is the price, about £40 each.

mind u, they are bright, highly recc
Old 03 January 2002, 04:47 PM
bruce
Scooby Regular

Cool

I put in the 80/100w bulbs into my MY97WRX and the only problem I have is the muck from the roads actually bakes onto the headlamp glass, I have to clean them before nearly every trip.
Old 03 January 2002, 05:40 PM
Canuck
Scooby Regular

All helpful comments so far, thanks.
I have been looking deeper into threads on this over the last several months (I am hard at work here - honest!) and this has been touched on in the past where people have noted problems with the bulbs fusing to the holders.