Notices
Insurance Subaru Impreza insurance can be expensive, as with any performance car insurance. But the cheapest car insurance isn't always the best. Share your quotes, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Started P1 Claim - Advice?

Search this Thread

Old 26 May 2003, 08:52 AM
Ratspants
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My P1 ended up in a field this weekend and i've already reported the claim by phone to my insurers. The damage looks fairly fundamental (although I'm no expert and the car can't be looked at by the 'authorised' people until Tuesday). Since this is my first ever claim I'm hoping someone might have some good advice on the following:

It's being recovered to an 'authorised' bodyshop on Tuesday where i guess the initial assessment will be made. Would it be reasonable of me to assume that they won't know much about repairing a P1? Should I get quotes from the repair shops that my two nearest subaru dealerships use - is this even possible if the car cannot easily be moved from the 'authorised' shop?

In the event that it is declared a write off I suspect that the insurance company will have difficulty giving me a reasonable value for it - mostly due to it's scarcity. Can I challenge them to find me one of the same condition/mileage for the value they have offered me? Parkers list dealer price at 19k and trade at 16k - a quick glance at autotrader suggests a very different story, and i believe the previous owner was offered 19k by a dealer (a bit too recently ).

Cheers,

R
Old 26 May 2003, 10:04 AM
simb 2
Scooby Regular

Location: South Wales - Stuck on this rollercoaster, get me off!!
Hi Ratspants, sorry to hear about your bad luck.