Getting started

Search this Thread

Old 20 August 2013, 07:30 AM
LordG
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Getting started

hi all,

I need some help/guidance in planning my complete car install.

I recently posted a thread asking to see you Double-Din installs (Thanks for those that shared) - this gave me some good ideas!

NOW, I want to start planning the complete install, but I am a complete noob at this. However, I do want to do the install myself (with my lads), so I am looking for some help/guidance.

Here is what I think I want at the moment, and I have a budget of £800 (is this realistic):

My car: 2004 Impreza WRX STI WR1

Definitely:
  • Double Din
  • ipod connection
  • DVD
  • new speakers
  • Amp
  • scalability to possibly to add other stuff in the future

Nice to have:
  • Sat Nav
  • CD player

What I need help with:
  • I know nothing about designing a complete system
  • I know nothing about Amps
  • I really like the Alpine kit, but have no idea of what is compatible with what

Can anyone help in either advice on here, over the phone, or recommend a good BASIC introduction guide to planning a car system?

If you were spending £800 on a complete new systems, then what would you buy?

... I hope you get the idea - it is possible to spend £1000's and still not have a good sound. Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers
Neil
Old 20 August 2013, 07:25 PM
Osimabu
Scooby Regular

Here's all the advice you'll ever need regarding 'ICE' in a WR1:

You've bought a rally developed limited edition car, produced to celebrate Petter Solberg winning the 2003 World Rally Championship and (allegedly) the most powerful and fastest Impreza ever made for official sale in the UK at the time. Its originality will be its guarantee of its future valve.

If it already has a radio, that's fine. If not, it doesn't need one. Anything else is just unnecessary ballast which will reduce the performance for no positive benefit.