Notices
ICE Serious sounds for serious cars.

OT:Dr. John Banks,PLEASE respond!

Search this Thread

Old 16 July 2001, 07:39 PM
rockin'Ru
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
John,can people really get the hoof-n-mouth disease?I'm a dairy farmer.Cows are my life,so to speek,and there's been a rumoured report of a child having it here.
Thing is,my daughter was going to go to her house this afternoon for a while,but then the wife just "casually" slipped in that a hospital diagnosed her with this yesterday.
The USDA should've heard about this within moments!Nothing.
This "could" be the first reported sign here in the US and to think it started with my cows??
John,any and all info you have on this would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you.
Steve
Old 16 July 2001, 07:50 PM
rockin'Ru
Scooby Regular

Sorry John,I screwed up.Our cows don't have it yet.Alledgedly(sp)this little girl(my niece)contracted it from a small zoo not too far away.So you can see that if this is for real,I could've transported it to my farm.
Sorry John(and Nick)I don't meen to use this as a talk show.But I've been reading,almost daily,of your struggles there with it.Total devastation of the industry.I knew it would reach us here in time,but not so close to home,literally.
Thank you for any and all help gentlmem!
Steve
Old 16 July 2001, 07:55 PM
john banks
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
IIRC, the most recent documented case of Foot and Mouth disease in humans in the UK was in the 1960s, and it presented with mild symptoms of sore throat and mouth ulcers, "Foot and Mouth Disease in Man." Lancet 6 May 1967:994. Beyond that my knowledge is limited as really it is so rare in humans and when it does occur it is self-limiting and requires no treatment.
Old 16 July 2001, 09:04 PM
chiark
Scooby Regular

Cor, you learn something every day. And Steve, no worries! U don't need to apologise!!! Talk all you want
Old 16 July 2001, 09:15 PM
Scooby Doc
Scooby Regular

John

6 minutes, not bad

Martin