Notices
ICE Serious sounds for serious cars.

Type of Amp Needed

Search this Thread

Old 11 June 2001, 11:24 AM
chiark
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Allegedly I wasn't recommending RF stuff, allegedly. I even say that I'd like a new amp. You tart (in my humble opinion, allegedly).

And of course Phoenix wouldn't cobble the amp that you took apart, allegedly.

Gavin, is this helping at all?

[Edited by chiark - 11/6/2001 3:45:11 PM]
Old 05 November 2001, 01:10 AM
Gavin G
Scooby Regular

Question

I am wondering what type of Amp (no. of channels etc.) I need for the following:

I have a Pioneer DEH-P6300R head unit and Infinity 605cs speakers up front and I want an amp to run both the 605's and a 12" sub.

As I'm fairly new to ICE any help would be appreciated.

Gavin G
Old 05 November 2001, 01:39 AM
rockin'Ru
Scooby Regular

Thumbs up

The Pioneer,great starting point(IMO)
The amp you want will depend on what your sub is.Can you tell us any details about it?Like power handeling(rms)and wheather it's a single or dual voice coil?
Old 05 November 2001, 08:22 AM
Gavin G
Scooby Regular

Question

Rockin' Ru

I haven't decided on what type of sub, all I know is that I will probably go for a 12" one. Maybe you can recommend both a good amp and sub that would do the job.

Cheers

Gavin G
Old 05 November 2001, 09:48 AM
chiark
Scooby Regular

I like the Philips for a cheap n cheerful four channel entry amp with loads of features - Gregh has one which he paid around 130 quid for, and I would rate it very well.

How much bass are you looking for? I take it, "enough" rather than "enough to loosen my fillings and make my spoiler drop off"?

If so, the Philips would suit you well and be an excellent amp for the future. I kept mine for 8? years as it's just so damn useful and has a nice sonic signature - it's completely unfatiguing, meaning you're never reaching for the volume control other than to turn everything up!

Nick.
Old 05 November 2001, 07:33 PM
rockin'Ru