Notices
ICE Serious sounds for serious cars.

Ebay Touch Screen - Advice

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Nov 27, 2005 | 07:59 PM
  #1  
miles25's Avatar
miles25
Thread Starter
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 648
Likes: 0
From: Black Country
Default Ebay Touch Screen - Advice

I have just spoken to a friend who has just won an auction for a touch screen pioneer 7500 dvd in-dash player, delivered from Bijing.

It seems amazingly cheap. Is he missing an obvious pitfall?

Sellers rating seems high, and the only problem I can see is getting radio stations (I understand a converter can be bought). Is there anything else likely to be wrong with it?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...MEWA%3AIT&rd=1
Reply
Old Nov 28, 2005 | 08:31 AM
  #2  
WaltonWRX's Avatar
WaltonWRX
Scooby Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 876
Likes: 0
Default

Originally Posted by miles25
I have just spoken to a friend who has just won an auction for a touch screen pioneer 7500 dvd in-dash player, delivered from Bijing.

It seems amazingly cheap. Is he missing an obvious pitfall?

Sellers rating seems high, and the only problem I can see is getting radio stations (I understand a converter can be bought). Is there anything else likely to be wrong with it?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...MEWA%3AIT&rd=1
I have seen these, i noticed that the feedback is sellers only, no one seems to have left feedback about the units? I also sent to sellers a couple of questions..... no reply. Maybe you let us know if your friend gets his unit....
Reply
Old Nov 28, 2005 | 10:17 AM
  #3  
magicdudey's Avatar
magicdudey
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 205
Likes: 0
Default

Good luck and hope you get a bargain!
My advise is only buy stuff like this if you can afford to loose the buy it now money! Nothing is for free.
Make sure he is covered as a paypal protection upto £500.
I used to have a Avic system, sold it as the motor on the swcreen packed in twice. Alpine is the one to get.
Reply
Old Nov 28, 2005 | 02:36 PM
  #4  
miles25's Avatar
miles25
Thread Starter
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 648
Likes: 0
From: Black Country
Default

Thanks guys

That was the other thing that worried me, he doesn't accept paypal. There's a bit in the description at the bottom of his advert that says due to him being based in Beijing he cannot accept paypal?? Didn't know if this was true or not but it worried me.

He's paying for it tomorrow, so I guess we'll find out. I'll let you know what happens
Reply
Old Nov 28, 2005 | 03:14 PM
  #5  
burbs's Avatar
burbs
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 121
Likes: 0
Default

There are 2 Paypal accounts you can have in China, one where you can only send and receive money from within China and also there is the normal Paypal account which can send and receive money anywhere in the world, the normal Paypal account so to speak.

The thing that would worry me however is the guys negative says that he paid for the item within the hour, therefore he almost certainly paid via Paypal. If thats the case then he must have the Paypal account that means he can send and receive money from around the world.
Reply
Old Nov 28, 2005 | 04:42 PM
  #6  
chiark's Avatar
chiark
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 13,735
Likes: 0
Default

I would *not* complete on this. It smells very funny to me.

Look at the history of feedback. The stuff they've sold before has been located in Coventry, and they've accepted paypal for it.

Now they're in China, and they're not accepting paypal, plus they're selling high value navigation stuff that's deeply desirable at rock bottom prices?

If it's too good to true, well, it is. *Never* pay using western union, you have no protection. Same for bank transfers.

I would strongly advise you and your mate to research the items that they've bought and sold before by walking through their feedback, and consider what to do. I personally wouldn't touch it with a bargepole.
Reply
Old Nov 28, 2005 | 05:01 PM
  #7  
scoobytoo's Avatar
scoobytoo
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 626
Likes: 0
Default

Originally Posted by chiark
I would *not* complete on this. It smells very funny to me.

Look at the history of feedback. The stuff they've sold before has been located in Coventry, and they've accepted paypal for it.

Now they're in China, and they're not accepting paypal, plus they're selling high value navigation stuff that's deeply desirable at rock bottom prices?

If it's too good to true, well, it is. *Never* pay using western union, you have no protection. Same for bank transfers.

I would strongly advise you and your mate to research the items that they've bought and sold before by walking through their feedback, and consider what to do. I personally wouldn't touch it with a bargepole.
as above,
personally i wouldn't touch this with a barge - pole!!
i wouldn't pay using direct payments as you won't get a guarantee on your money..
quote on his advert.
"money back guarantee if returned within 3 working days of receipt of payment" it wouldn't even get to you from bejjing in that time worry about returning it

just looking at his feedback, has just sold mobile phone yesterday but took PAYPAL payment


your money m8

Last edited by scoobytoo; Nov 28, 2005 at 05:12 PM.
Reply
Old Nov 28, 2005 | 05:14 PM
  #8  
Napedog's Avatar
Napedog
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 128
Likes: 0
Default

Dont buy, that western union thing is bollocks I had sum1 trying to buy something from me and tried getting me too use it, ebay also said it was a blag. Personally I wudnt buy anyfin off ebay, too much fraud and scammers, not worth it.
Reply
Old Nov 28, 2005 | 06:15 PM
  #9  
Jamo's Avatar
Jamo
Cooking on Calor
iTrader: (23)
 
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 23,346
Likes: 7
From: in a house full of girls!
Default

I saw this when the auction was running, theres something dodgy about it if you ask me, its no money for that piece of kit, but its a lot of money to lose! I wouldnt touch it.
Reply
Old Nov 29, 2005 | 09:51 PM
  #10  
miles25's Avatar
miles25
Thread Starter
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 648
Likes: 0
From: Black Country
Default

Well it turned out to be a fake!!!!

It was a hijacked account, luckily (and mostly thanks to this post) no money was sent). Thanks to all who replied, and big thanks to Chiark for all his advise

Check out the user feedback on the thread now!!!
Reply
Old Nov 30, 2005 | 04:09 PM
  #11  
WaltonWRX's Avatar
WaltonWRX
Scooby Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 876
Likes: 0
Default

Looks like you saved ya m8 some money then....
Reply
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
JimBowen
ICE
5
Jul 2, 2023 01:54 PM
KAS35RSTI
Subaru
27
Nov 4, 2021 07:12 PM
Mattybr5@MB Developments
Full Cars Breaking For Spares
12
Nov 18, 2015 07:03 AM
Sam Witwicky
Engine Management and ECU Remapping
17
Nov 13, 2015 10:49 AM
thunder8
General Technical
0
Oct 1, 2015 09:13 PM




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:02 PM.