Full new ICE system - help needed

Search this Thread

Old 07 February 2003, 01:12 AM
SimonJM
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Dear all,

I'm completely new to this ICE game and would like your valued opinions.

Waiting for my new STi8 to be delivered in about 4 weeks time. As soon as it touches British soil I want the crap standard stereo system out.

Now I know what I want head unit wise - Dension DH101 MP3 player (HDD)/ tuner unit. Single DIN unit & will fill the rest of the space with a PSI3 unit.

My problems start when I start thinking of speakers / amplifier upgrades

Speaker questions:

What sort of speakers are best - components or coaxial speakers?
Do you go for the same speakers front and rear?
Is there any point with components in the rear?
If using components in the rear where do the tweaters go?
What sort of power should the speakers be? (don't want my ears to bleed!!!!)

I don't want / not allowed (wife!!) / can't fit (baby pending!!!) any subs in the boot, so what would be the best alround speakers to go for with a good sound range?

Would I really need a subwoofer for any decent base range?

I really don't want the car to be thumping / pumping down the road, I just want a clear full sound.

Amp questions:

Would I be better of with a 2 or 4 channel amp?
Is there any point amplifying the rear speakers, if the front do all the work anyway?
Would I be better getting a 5 channel amp, just in case I can / need to persuade the wife that a sub is essential?

Any thoughts on Alpine amps:
MRV-F540 (4 x 150W)
MRV-F340 (4 x 100W)
MRP-F200 (4 x 75W)
MRP-F320 (4 X 75W + 1 X 180W)
MRV-F450 (4 X 90W + 1 X 370W)

Any other good amp recomendations

What sort of music do I listen to? Well just about anything and everything - from heavy rock to pop to classical music!!!

With regards to budget - I have £1000 to spend in total. Head unit is going to be just under £400, which leaves me with about £600 to spend on the amp / speakers / fitting.