Notices

Impreza running issue from start up

Search this Thread

Old 22 December 2012, 12:24 PM
dpmotorcycles
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Impreza running issue from start up

Hi Folks, my name is Paul and i’m new to your forum, we have had our Impreza 2L turbo (year 2000 UK) for about 4 years and it ran trouble free until this year. I work in a garage and have had the car looked at but we can’t fix the problem so i am here looking for some advise from you Subaru experts if you don’t mind.
Firstly the problem – the car wants/needs to cut out normally once some times twice before it will run right, just after it has cut out there is a lack of power for a short time until it get going. This problem gets worse the colder the weather is however it does it all year round regardless to the weather. When the weather is cold and we are sat on the drive warming the engine you have to hold it about 1500-2000rph to keep it ticking over, if you take your foot off the loud pedal it will just die, if you leave the drive straight after starting it will die at the 1st junction once you have dipped the clutch. Once the car has cut out it runs fine its just as if it need to cut out before it will run right??? So thats the problem, now this is what we have checked.
Fuel pressure 2.6 bar 3 bar with the vacuum off
All vacuum systems vacuum tested and ok
Throttle body cleaned and idle control valve
Map sensor changed
Car plugged in to a Bosch diagnostic system and everything check, no faults found
Lambda checked and working, also tried the car with it unplugged so it reverts to default
Earths checked
Temp sensor is doing the right thing according to Bosch diagnostic system started at 4 degrees from cold and rose to mid 70’s – 80’s made be higher i never made a note.
Turbo actuator working fine
All service items changed.
Please help i am stuck and don’t know where to turn next, thank you in advance Paul

Last edited by dpmotorcycles; 22 December 2012 at 04:31 PM.